Problem-based Curriculum

Mathematics & Computer Science

Webb’s Mathematics & Computer Science Department employs a problem-based curriculum to engage students in the development of both a knowledge base and a skill set that allows them to apply that knowledge in new and challenging situations. This happens in a student-centered classroom setting where they experience mathematics symbolically, numerically, graphically and verbally.

Students develop the ability to articulate their understanding of mathematics by regularly presenting and defending their solutions, a skill that serves them across disciplines at Webb. Through the process of solving problems, students are encouraged to develop the skills of investigation, conjecture, predicting, analysis and verification, which provide the best foundation for the mastery of mathematics and its application across the curriculum.

Neyer math
math

Faculty, Math

Brian Caldwell

Teacher
California Polytechnic University, Pomona – B.S.
bcaldwell@webb.org

More

James Dahler

Teacher
St. Francis College – B.S.
jdahler@webb.org

More

Sarah Lantz

Teacher, VWS Dean of Students
Scripps College – B.A.
Claremont Graduate University – M.A.
slantz@webb.org

More

Andrew Neyer

Teacher, Mathematics & Computer Science Department Chair
Miami University – B.A., B.S., M.A.
aneyer@webb.org

More

Kenny Huy Nguyen, Ph.D.

Teacher
University of Chicago – S.B.
University of Michigan – M.A.
North Carolina State University – Ph.D.
knguyen@webb.org

More

Geoffrey Owers

Teacher
Arizona State University – B.S., M. Ed.
gowers@webb.org

More

Syrah Russell

Teacher
Scripps College – B.A.
UC Berkeley – M.A.
srussell@webb.org

More

Maria I. Suarez

Teacher
Universidad del Tachira – B.S.
Intercontinental University – M.E.
msuarez@webb.org

More

Sarah Jane Trobaugh

Teacher
University of La Verne – B.A.
strobaugh@webb.org

More

Course of Study

Math courses begin with Algebra 1 and Integrated Mathematics I and II. These latter two courses blend algebra, geometry and trigonometry. The classes prepare students for Precalculus, which in turn prepares students for Calculus. Webb also offers AP Calculus AB and BC, as well as Statistics, AP Statistics and an own Advanced Studies Linear Algebra course.

In computer science, Webb provides an entry level course, AP Computer Science and an Advanced Studies course Computer Science course offered in partnership with faculty from Harvey Mudd College.