Study

Academic Program

The Webb Schools offer a rigorous college-preparatory curriculum aimed at providing students with a well-rounded liberal arts and sciences education while also giving them the space to develop and pursue their passions and interests. Students choose from a full range of courses, including honors, A.P., and Advanced Studies (unique courses designed by Webb faculty).

Each student, in partnership with his or her advisor, develops a course plan, one that considers both the academic interests and abilities of the student and the demands of their overall program. The Director of Studies and the Dean of College Guidance work with advisors and students to support the process.

Areas of Study

Science is what people use to make sense of their world. Thus, Webb’s program aims to teach students how to ask intelligent questions about nature as well as how to design experiments to answer those questions. Introductory courses encourage an inquiry-based approach to learning. At the conclusion of the sophomore year, students will have been introduced to the essentials of biology, chemistry, and physics, and are ready for more advanced study. Our advanced courses provide students the opportunity to dive into a field of interest and develop detailed knowledge of a particular discipline. All courses feature experiential learning; as much as possible, students learn by doing.

The science department utilizes the unique resources of the Raymond M. Alf Museum of Paleontology, located on Webb’s campus, as well as other laboratories located at local institutions. All science students are introduced to the activities of the museum’s Peccary Society, a group devoted to the collection and preservation of fossil remains. The Peccary Society makes frequent day and overnight expeditions throughout Southern California, providing students with ample opportunity to get first-hand involvement in paleontological fieldwork. In addition to the Alf museum, Webb has a number of partnerships with local institutions that enable us to utilize advanced equipment and have access to scientists with specialized knowledge in their fields. These opportunities enable our students to do real science.

The mathematics department uses a problem-based curriculum to engage students in the development of both a knowledge base and a skill set that allows them to apply that knowledge in new and challenging situations. This happens in a student-centered classroom setting where they have the opportunity to experience mathematics symbolically, numerically, graphically and verbally. Students develop the ability to articulate their understanding of mathematics by regularly presenting and defending their solutions, a skill that serves them across disciplines at Webb. We believe that through the process of solving problems, students are encouraged to develop the skills of investigation, conjecture, predicting, analysis, and verification, which provide the best foundation for the mastery of mathematics and its application across the curriculum.

The humanities is the interdisciplinary study of human history, cultures, and creativity. The courses in this discipline bring together multiple departments: English, history, and the fine arts, helping students cultivate a culture of thinking that crosses the lines of traditional kinds of texts—historical, literary, musical, artistic, commercial, comical, and more. While still learning skills specific to traditional disciplines, students also investigate how these disciplines overlap and affect each other. The goal of the core 9th and 10th grade humanities experience is to develop skilled readers, writers, and thinkers while advancing twenty-first century competencies such as collaboration—both digital internet and in-person—and graphic and film literacy. These courses serve as a launching pad for more rigorous and focused study in 11th and 12th grade electives.

The world languages department offers a full program of study in Spanish, French and Chinese. The curriculum helps students acquire proficiency in listening, speaking, reading, and writing, and fosters an understanding and appreciation of other cultures. The initial two years of language provide a means to develop a good accent, to master the basic structures of contemporary Spanish, French, and Chinese, to hear the language extensively in the classroom, to read increasingly more complex texts, and to develop a functional conversational vocabulary.

In the intermediate-level courses, cultural and literary studies provide the contextual milieu for pursuing proficiency in listening, speaking, reading, and writing. Advanced study in modern languages allows students to continue to increase their proficiency in the four skill areas while following a course of study that provides university-level challenges.

The fine arts curriculum exposes students to exciting, groundbreaking work from around the world and throughout history— and then challenges them to create their own. Webb art classes encourage students to find unique, unconventional ways to articulate their ideas, as they hone their understanding of theory and technique. By taking advantage of the vast cultural resources of Los Angeles and utilizing emerging technologies, Webb’s fine arts program teaches students how to turn knowledge into action, empowering them to think creatively and act inventively in the classroom, the campus, and beyond. The program includes instrumental and vocal music, theater, theater technology, visual and digital media.

Study At Webb

Departments

Brendan Beikmann

Teacher
Colorado State College – BA
Penn State – PhD
bbeikmann@webb.org

John Choi

Teacher
University of Illinois – BS
Northwestern University – MSEd
jchoi@webb.org

Andrew Hamilton

Teacher
Dalhousie University – BS, MS

ahamilton@webb.org

Michael Hoe

Director of Studies
Brown University – BS
Harvard University – EdM
mhoe@webb.org

Brian Kays

Teacher
San Diego State University – BA
Mount St. Mary's College – MS
bkays@webb.org

Lisa Nacionales

Science Department Chair
University of Tampa – BA
Johns Hopkins – MA
lnacionales@webb.org

Kevin Quick

Teacher
Arizona State University – BA
Northern Arizona University – MA
kquick@webb.org

Annalise Reynosa

Science Lab Tech
University of California - Merced – BA
areynosa@webb.org

Nicole Windmon

Teacher
Florida Atlantic University – BS
University of Notre Dame – PhD
nwindmon@webb.org

William Allan

Teacher
Claremont McKenna College – BA
wallan@webb.org

Rachel Brookshire

Teacher
Claremont McKenna College – BA
University of Southern California – MA
rbrookshire@webb.org

Arielle Brosh

Teacher
The New School – BA
Columbia University – MA
abrosh@webb.org

Drew Calvert

Bucknell University – BA
Stanford University – MA
University of Iowa – MFA
dcalvert@webb.org

Rick Duque

Webb School of California Dean of Students, Teacher
Pitzer College – BA
Claremont Graduate University – MA
rduque@webb.org

Jessica Fisher

Teacher, History & Humanities Department Chair
Brown University – BA
Tufts University – MA
jfisher@webb.org

Gregory Gerken

Teacher, English & Humanities Department Chair
West Chester University – BA
Towson University – MA
ggerken@webb.org

James Huerta

Teacher
University of California, Irvine – BA
University of Southern California – MA
jhuerta@webb.org

Mark Lauer

Teacher
University of Trier – BA
Georgetown University – PhD
mlauer@webb.org

Susanna Linsley

Director of Experiential Learning
Mount Holyoke College – AB
University of Michigan – MA, PhD
slinsley@webb.org

Wendy Maxon

Teacher
University of California, Los Angeles – BA
University of California, San Diego – MA, PhD
wmaxon@webb.org

Ken Rosenfeld

Dean of Campus Life
Occidental College – BA
Logan University – MS
krosenfeld@webb.org

Anthony D Shin

Associate Director of College Guidance
Claremont McKenna College – BA
Claremont Graduate University – MA
ashin@webb.org

Theresa Smith

Associate Head of Schools
University of California, Berkeley – BA
University of California, San Diego – MA, PhD

Read More

Michael Szanyi

Teacher
Pitzer College – BA
Claremont Graduate University – MA
mszanyi@webb.org

Stephen Caddy

Teacher
University of Alberta – BEd
scaddy@webb.org

Brian Caldwell

Teacher
California Polytechnic University, Pomona – BS
bcaldwell@webb.org

James Dahler

Teacher
St. Francis College – BS
jdahler@webb.org

Carissa DeRanek

Teacher
Harvey Mudd College – BS
cderanek@webb.org

Howard Kalter

Teacher
Bucknell University – BS
hkalter@webb.org

Sarah Lantz

Vivian Webb School Dean of Students
Scripps College – BA
Claremont Graduate University – MA
slantz@webb.org

Andrew Neyer

Teacher, Mathematics & Computer Science Department Chair
Miami University – BA, BS, MAT
aneyer@webb.org

Geoffrey Owers

Teacher
Arizona State University – BS, MEd
gowers@webb.org

William Walker

Teacher
Northeastern University – BSEE
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute – MEng
wwalker@webb.org

Sean Burns

Teacher
California State University, Los Angeles – BM
California State University, Fullerton – MM
sburns@webb.org

Kyle Champion

Teacher
Southern Methodist University – BA
University of Southern California – MM
kchampion@webb.org

Ardina Greco

Teacher
San Francisco Art Institute – BA
Columbia University – EdM
agreco@webb.org

Megan Horejsi

Teacher
University of California, Santa Barbara – BA
Loyola Marymount University – MA
mhorejsi@webb.org

Jackie Leishman

Teacher
University of Georgia – BA
Academy of Art University – MFA
jleishman@webb.org

Stefanie K Plumley

Teacher, Fine Arts Department Chair
University of Southern California – BA
University of Edinburgh – MA
splumley@webb.org

Linda Silva

Teacher
Oberlin College Conservatory of Music – BM
Rice University – MM
lsilva@webb.org

Alex Valdez

Theater Technical Director

Sonsoles Cardalliaguet

Teacher
Central Espanol Nuevas Profesiones de Madrid – BA
Universidad de Leon – MA
scardalliaguet@webb.org

Morgan Kapp

Teacher
Bucknell University – BA
Middlebury College – MA
mkapp@webb.org

Michael Kozden

Teacher, World Languages Department Chair
Penn State University – BA, MA
mkozden@webb.org

Malick Mbengue

Teacher
University of Dakar – BA
University of Louisville – MA
mmbengue@webb.org

Viviana Nicolosi

Teacher

Javier Valera

Teacher
Normal America – BA
Normal Superior Nueva Galicia – MS
jvalera@webb.org

Joseph Vincent

Reed College – BA
National Taiwan University – MA
jvincent@webb.org

Discover Webb

Consider this your invitation.