Study

Academic Program

The Webb Schools offer a rigorous college-preparatory academic program that provides students a well-rounded liberal arts and sciences education while giving them the space to develop and pursue their passions and interests. Students choose from a full range of courses, including honors, Advanced Placement and Advanced Studies (unique courses designed by Webb faculty).

Each student, in partnership with his or her advisor, develops a course plan that considers both the academic interests and abilities of the student and the demands of their overall academic program. The Director of Studies and the Dean of College Guidance work with advisors and students to support the process.

Areas of Study

Science is what people use to make sense of their world. Thus, Webb’s program aims to teach students how to ask intelligent questions about nature as well as how to design experiments to answer those questions. Introductory courses encourage an inquiry-based approach to learning. At the conclusion of the sophomore year, students will have been introduced to the essentials of biology, chemistry and physics and are ready for advanced study. Our advanced courses allow students to develop detailed knowledge of a particular discipline. All courses feature experiential learning; as much as possible, students learn by doing.

The science department utilizes the unique resources of the Raymond M. Alf Museum of Paleontology, located on Webb’s campus, as well as other laboratories at local institutions. All science students are introduced to the activities of the museum’s Peccary Society, a group devoted to the collection and preservation of fossils. The Peccary Society makes frequent day and overnight expeditions throughout Southern California, providing students with ample opportunity to get firsthand involvement in paleontological fieldwork. In addition to the Alf Museum, Webb partners with many area institutions to use advanced equipment and connect with experts in multiple fields. These opportunities enable our students to do real science.

The mathematics department uses a problem-based curriculum to engage students in the development of a knowledge base and a skill set that allows them to apply that knowledge in new and challenging situations. This happens in a student-centered classroom setting where they experience mathematics symbolically, numerically, graphically and verbally. Students develop the ability to articulate their understanding of mathematics by regularly presenting and defending their solutions, a skill that serves them across disciplines at Webb. Through the process of solving problems, students are encouraged to develop the skills of investigation, conjecture, predicting, analysis and verification, which provide the best foundation for the mastery of mathematics.

The humanities is the interdisciplinary study of human history, cultures and creativity. The courses in this discipline bring together multiple departments: English, history and the fine arts, helping students cultivate a culture of thinking that crosses the lines of traditional kinds of texts – historical, literary, musical, artistic, commercial, comical and more. While still learning skills specific to traditional disciplines, students investigate how these disciplines intersect. The goal of the core 9th- and 10th-grade humanities experience is to develop skilled readers, writers and thinkers while advancing 21st century competencies such as collaboration — both digital internet and in-person — and graphic and film literacy. These courses serve as a launching pad for more rigorous and focused study in 11th- and 12th-grade electives.

The world languages department offers a full program of study in Spanish, French and Chinese. The curriculum helps students acquire proficiency in listening, speaking, reading and writing and fosters an understanding and appreciation of other cultures. The initial two years of language provide a means to develop a good accent, to master basic language structures, to hear the language extensively in the classroom, to read increasingly complex texts and to develop a functional conversational vocabulary.

In the intermediate-level courses, cultural and literary studies provide the contextual milieu for pursuing proficiency in listening, speaking, reading and writing. Advanced study in modern languages allows students to continue to boost their proficiency in the four skill areas while following a course of study that provides university-level challenges.

The fine arts curriculum exposes students to exciting, groundbreaking work from around the world and throughout history – and then challenges them to create their own. Webb art classes encourage students to find original, unconventional ways to articulate their ideas as they hone their understanding of theory and technique. By taking advantage of the vast cultural resources of Los Angeles and emerging technologies, Webb’s fine arts program teaches students how to turn knowledge into action, empowering them to think creatively and act inventively in the classroom, the campus and beyond. The program includes instrumental and vocal music, theater, theater technology, visual and digital media.

WSC students with school work in front of Liu/Cheung Theater
Webb students in BioChemistry Lab
Hiking with Gerken and Kalter
Laptops on Chandler Field academic learning

Study At Webb

Departments

Brendan Beikmann, Ph.D.

Teacher
Colorado State College – B.A.
Penn State – Ph.D.
bbeikmann@webb.org

More

Kristen Brown

Teacher
California State University, Northridge – B.S.
California State University, Los Angeles – M.A.
kbrown@webb.org

More

Luke Chen

Teacher
University of California, Santa Cruz – B.S.
Azusa Pacific University – M.A.
lchen@webb.org

More

John Choi

Teacher, Director of Equity
University of Illinois – B.S.
Northwestern University – M.S. Ed.
jchoi@webb.org

More

Andrew Farke, Ph.D.

TEACHER, Director of the Raymond M. Alf Museum of Paleontology
South Dakota School of Mines – B.S.
State University of New York, Stony Brook – Ph.D.
afarke@webb.org

More

Nika Haleftiras

Teacher
Caltech – B.S. in biology
nhaleftiras@webb.org

More

Andrew Hamilton

Teacher
Dalhousie University – BSc, MSc
University of Toronto – B.Ed.
ahamilton@webb.org

More

Michael Hoe '04

Teacher, Director of Studies
Brown University – B.S.
Harvard University – Ed. M.
mhoe@webb.org

More

Brian Kays

Teacher
San Diego State University – B.A.
Mount St. Mary's College – M.S.
bkays@webb.org

More

Lisa Nacionales

Teacher, Science Department Chair
University of Tampa – B.A.
Johns Hopkins – M.A.
lnacionales@webb.org

More

Annalise Reynosa

Science Lab Tech
University of California - Merced – BA
areynosa@webb.org@webb.org

More

Nicole Windmon, Ph.D.

Teacher
Florida Atlantic University – B.S.
University of Notre Dame – Ph.D.
nwindmon@webb.org

More

William Allan '94

Teacher
Claremont McKenna College – B.A.
wallan@webb.org

More

Rachel Brookshire

Teacher
Claremont McKenna College – B.A.
University of Southern California – M.A.
rbrookshire@webb.org

More

Arielle Brosh

Teacher
The New School – B.A.
Columbia University – M.A.
abrosh@webb.org

More

Drew Calvert

TEACHER
Bucknell University – B.A.
Stanford University – M.A.
University of Iowa – MFA
dcalvert@webb.org

More

Elizabeth Cantwell, Ph.D.

Teacher, Chair of Humanities/English
Yale University – B.A.
University of Southern California – Ph.D,
ecantwell@webb.org

More

Rick Duque

Teacher, WSC Dean of Students
Pitzer College – B.A.
Claremont Graduate University – M.A.
rduque@webb.org

More

Mark Dzula, D. Ed.

TEACHER, Director of Teaching & Learning Resources
New York University – B.A.
City University of New York – M.A.
Columbia University – D. Ed.
mdzula@webb.org

More

Jessica Fisher

Teacher, Chair of Humanities/History
Brown University – B.A.
Tufts University – M.A.
jfisher@webb.org

More

Anthony Flucker

Teacher
Humboldt State University – B.A.
aflucker@webb.org

More

Eric Hansen

Teacher
Florida State University – B.A.
Hamline University – MFA
ehansen@webb.org

More

Lauren Hartle

Teacher
Azusa Pacific – B.A.
Claremont Graduate University – M.A.
lhartle@webb.org

More

James Huerta

Teacher
University of California, Irvine – B.A.
University of Southern California – M.A.
jhuerta@webb.org

More

Mark Lauer, Ph.D.

Teacher
University of Trier – B.A.
Georgetown University – Ph.D.
mlauer@webb.org

More

Susanna Linsley, Ph.D.

Teacher, Director of Experiential Learning
Mount Holyoke College – A.B.
University of Michigan – M.A., Ph.D.
slinsley@webb.org

More

Wendy Maxon, Ph.D.

Teacher
University of California, Los Angeles – B.A.
University of California, San Diego – M.A., Ph.D.
UC Riverside – MFA
wmaxon@webb.org

More

Maureen O'Brien

Teacher
McGill University – B.A.
Brown University – M.A.
mobrien@webb.org

More

Ken Rosenfeld

Teacher, Dean of Campus Life
Occidental College – B.A.
Logan University – M.S.
krosenfeld@webb.org

More

Anthony D. Shin

Associate Director of College Guidance, Teacher
Claremont McKenna College – B.A.
Claremont Graduate University – M.A.
ashin@webb.org

More

Theresa Smith, Ph.D.

Teacher, Associate Head of Schools
UC Berkeley – B.A.
UC San Diego – M.A., Ph.D.
tsmith@webb.org

More

Michael Szanyi

Teacher
Pitzer College – B.A.
Claremont Graduate University – M.A.
mszanyi@webb.org

More

Stephen Caddy

Teacher
University of Alberta – B.Ed.
scaddy@webb.org

More

Brian Caldwell

Teacher
California Polytechnic University, Pomona – B.S.
bcaldwell@webb.org

More

James Dahler

Teacher
St. Francis College – B.S.
jdahler@webb.org

More

Carissa DeRanek

Teacher
Harvey Mudd College – B.S.
cderanek@webb.org

More

Howard Kalter

Teacher
Bucknell University – B.S.
hkalter@webb.org

More

Sarah Lantz

Teacher, VWS Dean of Students
Scripps College – B.A.
Claremont Graduate University – M.A.
slantz@webb.org

More

Andrew Neyer

Teacher, Mathematics & Computer Science Department Chair
Miami University – B.A., B.S., M.A.
aneyer@webb.org

More

Geoffrey Owers

Teacher
Arizona State University – B.S., M. Ed.
gowers@webb.org

More

Syrah Russell

Teacher
Scripps College – B.A.
UC Berkeley – M.A.
srussell@webb.org

More

Kyle Champion

Teacher
Southern Methodist University – B.A.
University of Southern California – M.M.
kchampion@webb.org

More

Anthony Flucker

Teacher
Humboldt State University – B.A.
aflucker@webb.org

More

Ardina Greco

Teacher
San Francisco Art Institute – B.A.
Columbia University – Ed. M.
agreco@webb.org

More

Megan Horejsi

Teacher
University of California, Santa Barbara – B.A.
Loyola Marymount University – M.A.
Otis College of Art and Design – Certificate
mhorejsi@webb.org

More

Jackie Leishman

Teacher
University of Georgia – B.A.
Academy of Art University – MFA
jleishman@webb.org

More

Stefanie K. Plumley

Teacher, Fine Arts Department Chair
University of Southern California – B.A.
University of Edinburgh – M.A.
splumley@webb.org

More

Linda Silva

Teacher, Director of Instrumental Music
Oberlin College Conservatory of Music – B.M.
Rice University – M.M.
lsilva@webb.org

More

Gavin Thrasher

Teacher
University of Redlands – Bachelor of Music
University of Southern California – Master of Music
gthrasher@webb.org

More

Alex Valdez

Theater Technical Director
avaldez@webb.org

More

Sonsoles Cardalliaguet

Teacher
Central Espanol Nuevas Profesiones de Madrid – B.A.
Universidad de Leon – M.A.
scardalliaguet@webb.org

More

Morgan Kapp

Teacher
Bucknell University – B.A.
Middlebury College – M.A.
mkapp@webb.org

More

Michael Kozden

Teacher, World Languages Department Chair
Penn State University – B.A., M.A.
School for International Training – M.A.
mkozden@webb.org

More

Malick Mbengue

Teacher
University of Dakar – B.A.
University of Louisville – M.A.
mmbengue@webb.org

More

Viviana Nicolosi

Teacher
Marquette University – B.A. in French and Spanish
Université de Montpellier – Licence de Lettres
New York University – M.A.
Boise State University – Certificate
vnicolosi@webb.org

More

Esteban Vázquez

Teacher
California State University, Northridge – B.A.
Pepperdine University – M.A.
evazquez@webb.org

More

Joseph Vincent

Teacher, International Student Advisor
Reed College – B.A.
National Taiwan University – M.A.
jvincent@webb.org

More

Discover Webb

Consider this your invitation.